New Testing Requirement To Renew Expired Florida Driver’s License

February 14, 2021

There’s a new law in Florida that will impact drivers whose license has expired for an extended period of time, according to Escambia County Tax Collector Scott Lunsford.

Effective Monday, February 1, drivers who have allowed their driver’s license to expire for one year or more will be required to complete the written and vision exams before renewing their driver’s license.

Situations subject to retest requirements include:

  • Customers who have completed the Class E knowledge exam but have not had it applied to an issuance within one year of the exam date;
  • Customers who downgraded from a driver’s license to an ID card and the driver’s license has been expired for one year or more;
  • Customers who did not apply to renew their driver’s license within the one-year delinquent renewal period; and
  • Customers applying for a Florida driver’s license and their out-of-state driver’s license has been expired for one year or more

“Class E licenses may be renewed up to 18 months before expiration. I encourage everyone to renew early to avoid retest requirements,” said Lunsford. “Applicants who wish to study for the exam may access the official Florida Driver’s Handbook through our website.”

Deployed military personnel whose license will expire soon may be eligible for an extension. Visit www.EscambiaTaxCollector.com/military for more information.

A Class E license is the standard driver’s license in Florida.

Comments

40 Responses to “New Testing Requirement To Renew Expired Florida Driver’s License”

  1. Juan Allen on April 6th, 2022 3:30 pm

    I paid to have my licenses renewed online a couple weeks after they expired but never received a new copy, nor did I go to the DMV to take the picture for a new one. Do I have to take the exam over.l, even though I paid the renewal fee online me?

  2. Nancy Mckinney on November 27th, 2021 4:23 pm

    I had a Florida drivers license 20 years but I moved out of state and never renewed my license. What other than the written and eye test do I need to do before getting a new license. I am 56 years old.

  3. Francisco Di Roberto Jr on November 3rd, 2021 1:40 pm

    My Florida driver’s license is expired over one year and I understand I should take the written test again.
    Can I take it thru internet from my home?
    Thank you

  4. Adela on October 4th, 2021 5:46 pm

    Hi if my license has been expired for more than a year which I did not notice never got a notice in the mail can I take the written test online or do I have to go in in person and take it in person?

  5. Cc on July 7th, 2021 5:01 pm

    If license is expired more than 1 year, do I have to retake the driving test? Thanks

    Just the written and vision?

  6. Emilia on March 31st, 2021 12:10 pm

    HI! I understand that I have to take the writing exam again, does this mean that I also have to take again the drug and alcohol course?

  7. Ivonne on February 20th, 2021 11:13 pm

    I am a non resident with l 94 of six months. I have a valid mexican driving license.
    I used to have a florida driving license in 2007.
    To get a florida new driving license do I have to do a driving and a knowledge exam?
    What would be de valid period of time of the new license?
    What do I need to bring? Do I need to do an appointment for exam or for diving license?
    I own a car and a house un Florida.
    I have SS

  8. Linda Ki ser on February 20th, 2021 9:38 am

    I’m an OH resident. I’m in FL until the end of March. Is there an extension in FL, due to COVID-19? OH has an extension until July, but not sure if the OH extension will be good in FL?

  9. George "Mr. G" on February 16th, 2021 11:42 am

    @Tatiana

    In your specific case, I’d advise contacting the Help Desk at (850) 617-2000 or your local tax collector office. They will advise you on the necessary steps and requirements to apply for a driver license and renew your Florida ID.

  10. Tatiana on February 16th, 2021 9:13 am

    I would like to know how can I redo my Florida ID or how can I take out my license because I don’t know how to read or write

  11. George "Mr. G" on February 16th, 2021 7:47 am

    @Wowzers although what you mentioned may seem practical and the most relevant and logical, unfortunately it is not. Its recommended that you either visit your local tax collector office, online or contact the Help Desk with the registry.

  12. George "Mr. G" on February 16th, 2021 7:10 am

    To comment on @Wowzers initial post, the process has been simplified and requires you to have minor computer literacy or access to a phone. For additional information, please contact your local tax collectors office, visit http://wws.gorenew.com or http://www.flhsmv.gov for additional information. You may also contact the Help Desk at (850) 617-2000.

  13. Wowzers on February 15th, 2021 9:24 pm

    Folks.
    It says expired for extended time (year or more).
    So, if you have not had a VALID license for a year or more, expect to do vision and written test.
    Other criteria for requiring that are listed.
    Anything specific you can Google, call tax collector, check online at GoRenew.com, etc.
    You can renew before it expires (up to 18 months early AND online if requirements met).

    Sheesh.

    It ain’t really THAT hard is it? *facepalm*

  14. George "Mr. G" on February 15th, 2021 9:24 pm

    @Peggy

    I understand it is unfortunate that your driver license has expired. Unfortunately any executive orders that have been approved have already been exhausted. Although your license carries an expired status, as long as it has not lapsed for a period of more than one year then you will be required to only take a vision exam, unless otherwise directed. You will be charged a delinquent fee of $15.

  15. z Peggy (codes) on February 15th, 2021 6:29 pm

    My license “died” while I was hiding from the
    Virus. Any special help for us Over 65 who were quarantined ???

  16. George "Mr. G" on February 15th, 2021 5:07 pm

    @Bonny

    What’s out thoroughly reviewing the record, it is hard to reply to your question. Normally if a person is incarcerated for an extended period of time they will be required to retake the vision exam and due to the new legislative act, that person will now be required To take the theoretical exam. Additional steps may be required but will only be able to be provided in person.

  17. George "Mr. G" on February 15th, 2021 5:03 pm

    @ Ron Gates

    Yes, you are eligible to renew a Class E Operators or Commercial Class License up to 18 months in advance and if hazmat applies, then 12 months I’m advance.

  18. George "Mr. G" on February 15th, 2021 5:02 pm

    @Jonathan L Johnson

    You will be required to satisfy any outstanding obligations with the Department of Revenue prior to reinstatement of your driving privilege and issuance of your driver license.

  19. George "Mr. G" on February 15th, 2021 5:00 pm

    @Aileen Jane Mair

    As long as your current out-of-state license is valid and has not expired and you comply with the REAL-ID Compliancy act then you may reciprocate your license.

  20. George "Mr. G" on February 15th, 2021 4:58 pm

    @Linda Mackie

    Driver License and Identification Card requirements are the same in terms of Real-ID Compliancy (document requirements). Please contact your local tax collectors office for additional information.

  21. George "Mr. G" on February 15th, 2021 4:55 pm

    @Roberto C Rodriguez

    If you are in possession and control of a Class E Operators License, you are eligible to renew your license 18 months in advance. If your current license is marked with a “gold” star and no information has changed on the face of your license, you may visit your local tax collector office for assistance or visit gorenew.com

    Please take note, your situation may be different depending on your citizenship or immigration status and if any information has changed.

  22. Roberto C Rodriguez on February 15th, 2021 1:12 pm

    I got license clase E and expired on 4/14/2021 tell me what can I do

  23. Linda mackie on February 15th, 2021 12:44 pm

    I have a Florida I’d only I never learned to drive and never plan to I only need a new picture apparently are the rules the same ? My I’d expired in November thanks

  24. Anibal guarderas on February 15th, 2021 11:48 am

    Good law will make our roads safer

  25. Aileen Jane Mair on February 15th, 2021 11:13 am

    What if my Drivers License is valid in another state and I am transferring it over to Florida?

  26. Kathleen Clark on February 15th, 2021 10:25 am

    Everyone is complaining about FL Drivers License new laws, if it bothers you please feel free to leave our State. If no one likes the laws of a State they live in then go find somewhere you are happy please!!
    We have always needed a birth certificate, and proof of residence. Not sure what the big deal is.

  27. Johndeere on February 15th, 2021 6:21 am

    @Zachary wise
    You need two proofs of residence ( light bill car insurance lease etc. Also you will need your birth certificate and social security card. Welcome to Florida

  28. Johndeere on February 15th, 2021 6:19 am

    Zachary wise you need to proof of residence( lease light bill etc and your birth certificate.

  29. Jonathan L Johnson on February 15th, 2021 3:44 am

    Child support want let me get my license back

  30. Michael Desando on February 14th, 2021 7:47 pm

    So let me get this correct? You have to jump through all those hoops to get a driver’s license and id card -BUT YOU DON’T TO HAVE A BOATING LICENSE IF YOUR BORN BEFORE 1987 ????? YOU DO KNOW YOUR IN FLORIDA DON’T YOU ; WOW WERE NOT IN KANSAS ANYMORE DOROTHY & TOE-TOE?

  31. ron gates on February 14th, 2021 7:46 pm

    CAN I RENEW MY FLORIDA DRIVERS LICENSE BEFORE IT EXPIRES?

  32. TERRENCE KAREEM MCDAVID on February 14th, 2021 4:37 pm

    Today was my first time making a list of examples forward receiving a driver’s license

  33. What if on February 14th, 2021 1:15 pm

    why would I have to do that when the state took mine i didn’t let them laps the state did

  34. What if on February 14th, 2021 1:12 pm

    what if you didn’t let your license laps and the state did it why would I have to do that when they took them

  35. Suzie B on February 14th, 2021 11:39 am

    To Zachry Wise : You can go to this site and you’ll find the information you will need.
    https://escambiataxcollector.com/know-before-you-go-florida-driver-license-or-identification-card/

    Hope that helps.

  36. mike on February 14th, 2021 9:51 am

    what type of test is required to” downgrade” to an ID card?

  37. paul on February 14th, 2021 9:35 am

    Too bad there isn’t a common sense/common courtesy behind the wheel exam – oh you couldn’t do that, think of the failure rate, then they would be pushed to driving without a license and we all know nobody does that, Should have to show valid current vehicle insurance too before issuance.. They ran the numbers, gonna bring in the $$$ for the state…the bottom line.

  38. George "MR.G" on February 14th, 2021 9:33 am

    Hello Zachary,

    Thank you for your question. Thankfully each state has reciprocity and is interconnected to a database called the NDR (National Driver Registry). In additional we have access to another central and national database which grants us the permissions to enter customer information and submit an inquiry to generate your current license from your departing state. As long as you do not have an active suspension, disqualification, revocation or cancelation and a NOT NOT correspondence does not display, then we follow thr reciprocity agreement.

  39. Bonny on February 14th, 2021 8:29 am

    My friends nephew has been incarcerated for 20 years getting out this July. When he went in his license was valid I can only assume he will have to retake everything again???

  40. Zachry Wise on February 14th, 2021 7:29 am

    I have recently moved from Hawaii and lost my license in the process. I was an Alabama resident prior to moving to Hawaii. I’ve kept a picture of it on my phone in case I ever needed it. What exactly do I need to acquire my Florida driver’s license?





Have a comment on this story?

We welcome your comments on this story, but there are some rules to follow::

(1) Be Nice. No comments that slander another, no racism, no sexism, no personal attacks.

(2) No Harrassing Comments. If someone says something bad about you, don't respond. That's childish.

(3) No Libel. That's saying something is not true about someone. Don't do it.

(4) Keep it clean. Nothing vulgar, obscene or sexually related. No profanity or obvious substitutions. Period.

(5) NorthEscambia.com reserves the right to remove any comments that violate our rules or we think to be inappropriate. We are not responsible for what is posted. Comments may not appear right away until they are approved by a moderator.

(6) Limit your comments to the subject in this story only, and limit comments to 300 words or less. Do not post copyrighted material. Comments will not be added to stories that are over 30 days old.

(7) No posts may advertise a commercial business or political group, or link to another commercial web site or political site of any kind.