Escambia County Teachers Of The Year Announced

October 10, 2023

The nominees for Escambia County Teacher of the Year were announced Monday. will feature many of the North Escambia nominees in individual stories in the coming weeks.

One of them will named the Escambia County overall Teacher of the year in late January from a list of five finalists.

They nominees representing their respective schools are:


  • Jim Allen Elementary — Mary Holley-Lewis
  • Bellview Elementary — Angelyn (Angie) Baggett
  • Beulah Elementary — Miranda Freauff
  • Blue Angels Elementary — Courtney Acosta
  • Bratt Elementary — Genia Bashore
  • Brentwood Elementary — Hollie Frazee
  • Hellen Caro Elementary — Tara Papillion
  • N. B. Cook Elementary — Tammy Creel
  • Cordova Park Elementary — Rebecca Calloway
  • Ensley Elementary — Yohana Lopez
  • Ferry Pass Elementary — Mary Goolsby
  • Global Learning Academy — Ariana Helvie
  • Holm Elementary — Charisse Tarter
  • Kingsfield Elementary School — Jennifer Smith
  • Lincoln Park Elementary — Loretta Richardson
  • Lipscomb Elementary — Rionna Wages
  • Longleaf Elementary — Terri Herrington
  • McArthur Elementary — Lisa Thomas
  • Molino Park Elementary — Candice Blackburn
  • Montclair Elementary — Yaneickia Hayes
  • Myrtle Grove Elementary — Christine Kozik
  • Navy Point Elementary — Emerald Barton
  • Oakcrest Elementary — Sara Rabb
  • Pine Meadow Elementary — Cassi Mcgee
  • Pleasant Grove Elementary — Dyana Blackmon
  • Scenic Heights Elementary — Dana Milton
  • O.J. Semmes Elementary — Spencer Mullet
  • Sherwood Elementary — Vanessa Carrasco
  • A. K. Suter Elementary — Alicia Hassell
  • Warrington Elementary — Scott Wright
  • C. A. Weis Elementary — Priteyja Olige Brannon
  • West Pensacola Elementary — Lisa Mcvey


  • Bailey Middle School — Roberta Wetzel
  • Bellview Middle — Naomi Stewart
  • Beulah Middle — Gearlene Mccorvey Johnson
  • Brown Barge Middle — Jessica Lenhart
  • Ernest Ward Middle — Glenda Bell
  • Ferry Pass Middle — Stephen Daniel Hall
  • Ransom Middle — Angela Rose
  • Workman Middle — Bruce Wenger


  • Escambia High School — Timothy Deloge
  • Northview High School — Megan Carroll
  • Pensacola High School — Amelia Murphy
  • Pine Forest High School — Whitney Meadows
  • Tate High School — Christine (Christy) Mills
  • Washington High School — Juanita Bordelon
  • West Florida High School — Lisa Torres


  • Alternative Education — Steve Mclaughlin
  • Beulah Academy of Science — Allison Eubanks
  • Capstone Academy — Michelle Roberts
  • Achieve Academy — Harrietta Hall
  • Success Academy — Karyn Blacker
  • Escambia Virtual — Chet Truett
  • Escambia Westgate — Rosanna Newman
  • ESE — Barbara Cole
  • Hope Horizon — Tammyjo Dublin
  • George Stone Technical College — Bobbie Latzer


12 Responses to “Escambia County Teachers Of The Year Announced”

  1. E Culbertson on October 12th, 2023 9:05 pm

    Mrs.Mills. Long overdue. You have helped so many for so long

  2. Vickie on October 12th, 2023 7:29 am

    Congratulations Vanessa Carrasco! So proud of you!

  3. Don cooper on October 11th, 2023 1:04 am

    Congratulations Tim Deloge, hope you win it all. You deserve it.

  4. Tina on October 10th, 2023 11:28 pm

    Congratulations Mrs. Mills Well Deserved!!!!!

  5. Luke Graham on October 10th, 2023 5:20 pm

    Congratulations Ms. Eubanks!! Thank you for everything you do!

  6. Great job on October 10th, 2023 4:31 pm

    @hurry, even better since you have the solution(or so it seems) why don’t YOU step in to a classroom or a school board seat and fix all this mess? For someone who wants them to “hurry” maybe the county just isn’t quite as fast as you are. Speed ‘em up…….we’re waiting!

  7. Patti rittenbery on October 10th, 2023 3:26 pm

    Way to go Candace Blackburn proud of you.

  8. Lindsey on October 10th, 2023 12:05 pm

    Congratulations, Megan Carroll! Much deserved!

  9. Jebb Sellers on October 10th, 2023 10:02 am

    Congratulations Glenda Bell from Jebb & Debbie.

  10. Jlb on October 10th, 2023 8:30 am all of these hard working teachers.

  11. Hurry on October 10th, 2023 7:55 am

    Hurry up and award these teachers… then send them to the “D & F” schools for direct impact!!!

  12. Jackie Johnson on October 10th, 2023 7:03 am

    Congratulations Glenda Bell!

Have a comment on this story?

We welcome your comments on this story, but there are some rules to follow::

(1) Be Nice. No comments that slander another, no racism, no sexism, no personal attacks.

(2) No Harrassing Comments. If someone says something bad about you, don't respond. That's childish.

(3) No Libel. That's saying something is not true about someone. Don't do it.

(4) Keep it clean. Nothing vulgar, obscene or sexually related. No profanity or obvious substitutions. Period.

(5) reserves the right to remove any comments that violate our rules or we think to be inappropriate. We are not responsible for what is posted. Comments may not appear right away until they are approved by a moderator.

(6) Limit your comments to the subject in this story only, and limit comments to 300 words or less. Do not post copyrighted material. Comments will not be added to stories that are over 30 days old.

(7) No posts may advertise a commercial business or political group, or link to another commercial web site or political site of any kind.