Escambia County Names Teachers Of The Year

October 14, 2021

Escambia County’s Teachers of the Year have been picked to represent their respective schools.

One of them will be named the Escambia County School District’s overall Teacher of the year.

The Teachers of the Year by school are:

  • Achieve Academy — Aarin Phillips Nedd
  • Alternative Education — William Broome
  • Jim Allen Elementary — Amanda Robar
  • Jim C. Bailey Middle — Jessika Brown
  • Bellview Elementary — Christina Burson
  • Bellview Middle — Dominick Limle
  • Beulah Academy of Science — Jessica Lewis
  • Beulah Elementary — Kris Lapata
  • Beulah Middle School — Cindy Speed
  • Blue Angels Elementary — Eunice Angeles
  • Bratt Elementary — Mary Rackard
  • Brentwood Elementary — Gail Hanson
  • Brown-Barge Middle — Angela Nass
  • Hellen Caro Elementary — Tammy Robertson
  • N. B. Cook Elementary — Mary de Boer
  • Cordova Park Elementary — Courtney Lurton
  • Ensley Elementary — Iris Jones
  • Escambia High — Susan Chambers
  • Escambia Westgate — Melissa Caldwell
  • Exceptional Student Education — Elizabeth Leonard
  • Ferry Pass Elementary — Diondria Bridges
  • Ferry Pass Middle — Brittany Wobecky
  • Global Learning Academy — Amanda Westbrooks
  • Reinhardt Holm Elementary — Lisa Jones
  • Hope Horizon — Vivian Gillard
  • Kingsfield Elementary School — Jessica Phelps
  • Lincoln Park Elementary — Laura Hobbs
  • R. C. Lipscomb Elementary — Dustin Brenton
  • Longleaf Elementary — Laury Heath
  • L. D. McArthur Elementary — Lindsey Jeremiah
  • Molino Park Elementary — Jessica Varner
  • Montclair Elementary School — Ashley Roache
  • Myrtle Grove Elementary — Rich Gonzalez
  • Navy Point Elementary — Dovennie Day
  • Northview High — Jeffrey D. Simpkins
  • Oakcrest Elementary — Philip Jones
  • Pensacola High — Karen Bruening
  • Pine Forest High — Jamiliya McBride
  • Pine Meadow Elementary — Christina (Tina) Schlauder
  • Pleasant Grove Elementary — Amy Urban
  • Ransom Middle — Angela Avery
  • Scenic Heights Elementary — Janette Calder
  • O. J. Semmes Elementary — Rickie Merritt
  • Sherwood Elementary — Alicia Smith
  • George Stone Technical College — Edward Sizemore
  • A. K. Suter Elementary — Alison Link
  • Success Academy — Carolyn Dejacimo Pillar
  • J. M. Tate High — Karl King
  • Ernest Ward Middle — Katie Roley
  • Warrington Elementary — Alicia Abbuhl
  • Warrington Middle — Caleb Lovely
  • Booker T. Washington High — Barbie Spears
  • C. A. Weis Elementary — Brianna Cooks
  • West Florida High — Laura Rainey
  • West Pensacola Elementary — Audra Livingston
  • J. H. Workman Middle School — Helene Carrington

Pictured: The Golden Apple Award. File photo.


13 Responses to “Escambia County Names Teachers Of The Year”

  1. AggieMom on October 15th, 2021 8:30 pm

    My daughter went to Beulah middle school and I’m so glad to see that Cindy Speed has been nominated. She is battling cancer and going through chemo and she made sure she was there for her students in the midst of this challenging chapter of her life. I think she deserves teacher of the year for her amazing dedication to providing the best educational opportunities to her students as well as sharing her personal issues so that her students also learn value life skills. She is a true inspiration for the school district and her students. Congratulations Ms. Speed!!!!!!

  2. Jan Enfinger on October 15th, 2021 1:43 pm

    Congratulations to all Teachers of the Year and especially Angie Avery at Ransom Middle! You are a special person and exceptional teacher and I am proud to call you friend! You remained dedicated to your students in a most difficult time in your life. You are a hero in my book. Your students are very fortunate!

  3. Bonnie Exner on October 14th, 2021 12:51 pm

    As a former TOY 1978 Warrington Middle and 2002 Ransom Middle, I congratulate those who were selected by their colleagues to represent their schools for this honor…especially after the challenging 2020-21 school year dealing with a covid pandemic…TEACHING IS A CALLING and not just a job and even though the hours are long,the frustrations are many, the benefits leave a lot to be desired, the intrinsic rewards are what all the above .. and many more…are what keep great teachers in the classroom!

  4. ex Tate parent on October 14th, 2021 11:49 am

    Congratulations Karl King representing J. M. Tate HS! Well deserved recognition for your valued time both in the classroom and on the ballfield with your players.

  5. Sandra McMeans on October 14th, 2021 11:29 am

    Congratulations to all these outstanding educators.You are Heroes and Sherors to many. Stay strong,stay focused,
    And laugh a lot. Blessings to all.

  6. Jerry McGaughey on October 14th, 2021 8:44 am

    What a great way to honor Mr. Sizemore, he was always very helpful and kind to my son Brennan. God bless you all.

  7. Teacher on October 14th, 2021 8:43 am

    Dewayne…. thank you so much for recognizing all of us. We really appreciate it! God bless you!

  8. Parent on October 14th, 2021 8:27 am

    Mrs. Phelps is beyond deserving! My child had her for third grade. She is amazingly kind and wonderful with the kids. She goes well above and beyond. I wish we could have kept her every year!!!

  9. Sherry Taylor on October 14th, 2021 7:17 am

    Congratulations to all these wonderful educators!

  10. Parent of former student on October 14th, 2021 7:08 am

    Way to go Mrs. Phelps @ Kingsfield Elementary! You are definitely deserving of this recognition!

  11. Northendbratt on October 14th, 2021 6:15 am

    Way to go Mary Rackard and Katie Roley…

  12. Angela Barberi on October 14th, 2021 5:12 am

    Love seeing so many fine and performing arts teachers being recognized by their peers for their contribution to their schools. Yes!

  13. Dewayne on October 14th, 2021 12:52 am

    In my book, all teachers period are teachers of the year….each and every one.
    God bless them!!!

Have a comment on this story?

We welcome your comments on this story, but there are some rules to follow::

(1) Be Nice. No comments that slander another, no racism, no sexism, no personal attacks.

(2) No Harrassing Comments. If someone says something bad about you, don't respond. That's childish.

(3) No Libel. That's saying something is not true about someone. Don't do it.

(4) Keep it clean. Nothing vulgar, obscene or sexually related. No profanity or obvious substitutions. Period.

(5) reserves the right to remove any comments that violate our rules or we think to be inappropriate. We are not responsible for what is posted. Comments may not appear right away until they are approved by a moderator.

(6) Limit your comments to the subject in this story only, and limit comments to 300 words or less. Do not post copyrighted material. Comments will not be added to stories that are over 30 days old.

(7) No posts may advertise a commercial business or political group, or link to another commercial web site or political site of any kind.