Escambia Mira Awards Honor Most Creative Seniors

April 15, 2016

The Escambia County Public Schools Foundation honored 68 of Escambia County’s outstanding creative high school seniors at the 2016 Mira Creative Arts Awards Ceremony Thursday night in Pensacola.

Mira Creative Arts Awards recipients were nominated by their high school teachers for their achievements in the creative arts.  At the ceremony, the students received commemorative engraved medallions and Certificates of Special Congressional Recognition from Congressman Jeff Miller.

Recipients of the 2016 Mira Creative Arts Award were:

Honorees are listed below under a photo from each school, scroll down, click to enlarge.

Escambia High School

Megan R. Berrian, Theatre/Chorus
Brody Cecil, Instrumental Music
Tyler Crowe, Instrumental Music
Rebecca Lin Edwards, Visual Arts
Carly Gill, Digital Multimedia
Veronica Guersney, Culinary Arts
Trevor King, Instrumental Music
Avery Lockett, Instrumental Music
Brianna Renee Miller, Yearbook
Kayla Jean Wood, Visual Arts

Northview High School

Jessica Amerson, Yearbook
Tamara Barrows, Visual Arts
Cheyenne Gray, Visual Arts
Abbie Johnson, Instrumental Music
Bethany Reynolds, Yearbook
Elizabeth Sanders, Visual Arts
Jordan Taylor, Yearbook
Harmoni Till, Theatre
Bradley Van Pelt, Writing
Haylee Weaver, Public Speaking

Pensacola High School

Allison Cramer, Theatre
Katherine Englemeyer, Instrumental Music
Lauren Heidenreich, Photography
Kierstan Johnson, Journalism
Darriell Jones, Visual Arts
Christian Kyles-Smith, Theatre
Ariel Noethlich, Visual Arts
Jonathan Voyles, Instrumental Music

Pine Forest High School

Benjamin Blevins, Robotics
Jasmine Brown, Visual Arts
Amanda Faller, Television Production
Trey Haynes, Vocal Music
Alyssa Javier, Vocal Music
Kristina McKinnon, Journalism
Tabitha Reno, Cyber Security
Jordan Riddle, Instrumental Music
Christopher Schofield, Instrumental Music
Callastasia Williams, Visual Arts

Tate High School

Sarah Mae Cagle, Mock Trial
Bryce Coots, Instrumental Music
Troy Craig, Theatre
Michele Danley, Visual Arts
Jessica Edge, Vocal Music
Tiffany Griffin, Instrumental Music
McClain Houdashelt, Theatre
Brianna Snyder, Instrumental Music
Cody Swilley, Instrumental Music
Kaela Tibbs, Vocal Music

Booker T. Washington High School

Kristen Bonanno, Visual Arts
Isaiah Gonzalez, Theatre
Kina Kawakami, Instrumental Music
Yuliya Sola Lee, Instrumental Music
Madison G. O’Toole, Visual Arts
Alana Marie Pacheco, Journalism
Cody Alan Paquette, Instrumental Music
Anna Safko, Theatre
Hannah Spears, Theatre
Jackson Van Matre, Instrumental Music

West Florida High School

Lynn Ruth Arthur, Photography
Cheynne Byrd, Instrumental Music
Lane Markham Isbell, Graphic/Digital Design
Melissa Jansen, Graphic/Digital Design
Katie McArthur, Graphic/Digital Design
Mariah McMullen, Instrumental Music
Bianca Mutter, Journalism
Stephen Rodgers, III, Visual Arts
Yana Thompson, Visual Arts
Stephen Woodson, Theatre

In 1987, a group of teachers at J. M. Tate High School created the Mira Awards to recognize talented and creative students in the arts and sciences.  The following year, the committee approached the Foundation to bring the awards under its umbrella and to initiate county-wide student participation each year in the areas of writing, performing and visual arts, and other creative disciplines.  The term “Mira” is Latin for the name of the brightest star in the constellation Cetus. photos, click to enlarge


5 Responses to “Escambia Mira Awards Honor Most Creative Seniors”

  1. Magnus on February 14th, 2018 6:37 am

    Congratulations ro your all!! Your the very best!!!

  2. Northend flash on April 15th, 2016 10:23 am

    Congratulations Abbie, great job, keep up all your hard work college.

  3. Hello on April 15th, 2016 7:58 am

    Great job students AND teachers that have taken time with them!

  4. Kim Stefansson on April 15th, 2016 7:38 am

    Congratulations to Bethany!!!!!!!

  5. Jackie Johnson on April 15th, 2016 6:40 am

    Congratulations to all students who received the Mira Award and especially to the ones from Northview High School in Bratt, Florida. Go Chiefs!!

Have a comment on this story?

We welcome your comments on this story, but there are some rules to follow::

(1) Be Nice. No comments that slander another, no racism, no sexism, no personal attacks.

(2) No Harrassing Comments. If someone says something bad about you, don't respond. That's childish.

(3) No Libel. That's saying something is not true about someone. Don't do it.

(4) Keep it clean. Nothing vulgar, obscene or sexually related. No profanity or obvious substitutions. Period.

(5) reserves the right to remove any comments that violate our rules or we think to be inappropriate. We are not responsible for what is posted. Comments may not appear right away until they are approved by a moderator.

(6) Limit your comments to the subject in this story only, and limit comments to 300 words or less. Do not post copyrighted material. Comments will not be added to stories that are over 30 days old.

(7) No posts may advertise a commercial business or political group, or link to another commercial web site or political site of any kind.