Results: Poarch Creek Indians Hold Elections; Two Races Headed To Runoffs

June 6, 2010

The Poarch Creek Indians held an election Saturday for a treasurer, secretary and an at-large member.

There will be a runoff for the secretary position between incumbent David Gehman and William Lawrence Bailey. For treasurer, there will be a runoff between Robert McGhee and Amy Nelson Bryan.

Eddie Leon Tullis was elected to an at-large position on the Tribal Council.

There was a total of 1054 General Council members who voted in the tribal election. There were 92 absentee ballots and 253 walk-in ballots counted. A total of 709 General Council members voted in person on Saturday.

**David Gehman 318
** William Lawrence Bailey 177
Kellie Ramer 168
Carolyn M. White 166
Sandra Lee Smith 123
Dewitt Carter 77

**Robert McGhee 379
**Amy Nelson Bryan 350
Edie Tullis Jackson 225
William L. Vickery 76

At Large
**Eddie Leon Tullis 282
Helen McGhee Hallman 196
Debra Rolin Strickland 181
Robert G. Thrower 101
W.V. William 98
Carrie Martin 75
Valerie Barnhill Taylor 47
Gil Caudle 46
Douglas Kelley 11
Ernest Vickery (write-in) 4

All three Constitutional Amendments on the ballots passed.

Elections results from Saturday must be certified by the Tribal Council in order to become official.


Have a comment on this story?

We welcome your comments on this story, but there are some rules to follow::

(1) Be Nice. No comments that slander another, no racism, no sexism, no personal attacks.

(2) No Harrassing Comments. If someone says something bad about you, don't respond. That's childish.

(3) No Libel. That's saying something is not true about someone. Don't do it.

(4) Keep it clean. Nothing vulgar, obscene or sexually related. No profanity or obvious substitutions. Period.

(5) reserves the right to remove any comments that violate our rules or we think to be inappropriate. We are not responsible for what is posted. Comments may not appear right away until they are approved by a moderator.

(6) Limit your comments to the subject in this story only, and limit comments to 300 words or less. Do not post copyrighted material. Comments will not be added to stories that are over 30 days old.

(7) No posts may advertise a commercial business or political group, or link to another commercial web site or political site of any kind.