Christmas Spirit: Lady Jags Softball Helps Decorate Ronald McDonald House

December 6, 2014

The West Florida High School Lady Jaguar softball team helped decorate the Ronald McDonald House in Pensacola for Christmas. Courtesy photo for, click to enlarge.

Tate’s Marquis Cass Makes Verbal Commitment To Florida A&M

December 5, 2014

Tate High School linebacker Marquis Cass made a verbal commitment Thursday to Florida A&M University, according to the Tate Aggie football program. file photo.

Tryouts Set For West Florida Elite Softball

December 5, 2014

Summer tryouts are coming up soon for West Florida Elite softball.

West Florida Elite was established in 2003 with a mission to assist female athletes in the development of their softball skills to prepare them for a future as a college student athlete. The organization has had over 100 players play at the collegiate level and is recognized as one of the top softball organizations in the Gulf Coast Region.

Their goal is to provide athletes an opportunity to compete at the highest level possible by playing  the most competitive tournaments throughout the southeast. The 2014 West Florida Elite  class had 18 players sign a National Letter of Intent to play at the next level.

Tryouts for 12U will be held Saturday, December 6 at 9:30 a.m. at Tate High School. Tryouts for 14U will be 2:30 p.m. on December 13; tryouts for 16U will be December 14 at 9:30 a.m.; and tryouts for 18U will be held December 14 at 2:30 p.m. at Tate.

For more information and a registration form, click here.

Ernest Ward Splits Basketball Games With Perdido Middle School

December 3, 2014

Ernest Ward Middle School split basketball games will Perdido (AL) Middle School  Tuesday in Walnut Hill.

The Ernest Ward Eagles beat Perdido 30-19 in boys’ action, while Perdido defeated the EWMS Lady Eagles 17-14 on their home court.

The Eagles have three road games remaining in their season, beginning with a trip to Flomaton on Thursday. The Eagles will take on the Canes at 4:30 for the girls and 5:30 for the boys.

For more photos, click here. photos, click to enlarge.

Lady Chiefs Open Season With Win Over Rocky Bayou; Tate Aggies Improve To 4-0

December 2, 2014

Northview 35, Rocky Bayou 28 (Girls)

The Northview varsity girls basketball team won their season opener Monday night, beating Rocky Bayou 35-28.

The Chiefs were led by seniors E’Layzha Bates and Angel Lathan. Bates scored 11 points while pulling down 13 rebounds. Lathan led the team with 13 points.
Sophomore De’Asia Fountain chipped in with 4 points. Freshman Natasha Walker also had 4 points, while senior Morgan Ward scored 3 points.

The Northview Lady Chiefs (1-0) return to action on Monday, December 8 at Milton when both JV and  varsity will play.

Tate 57, Escambia 50

In boys varsity action, the Tate Aggies beat the Escambia Gators 57-50 Monday. With the win the Aggies improve to 4-0 this season.

The Aggies will host Washington High School at 7:30 on Thursday.

Blue Wahoos Name Pat Kelly As New Manager

December 2, 2014

The Cincinnati Reds today announced Pat Kelly will be the new manager for the Pensacola Blue Wahoos. With over 20 years of managerial experience, Kelly led the Bakersfield Blaze, the former Class A Advanced affiliate for the Reds, in 2014. Alex Pelaez and Jeff Fassero will return as the team’s hitting and pitching coaches, respectively.

Delino DeShields, the Wahoos manager for the past two seasons, will manage the Louisville Bats, the Triple-A affiliate for the Reds, in 2015.

“We are very pleased to announce Pat Kelly as the manager of the Pensacola Blue Wahoos. Pat brings decades of experience and success to the role from all levels of play and I am confident he will bring out the best in our players. Pat understands our intent to put a winning product on the field and will work tirelessly in this pursuit,” said Jeff Graupe, Director of Player Development for the Reds. “I am also proud to introduce Delino DeShields as the new manager in Louisville. Delino will be entering a new chapter of his coaching career, but his time in Pensacola was vital to his development as a manager and will aide him with this new challenge.”

Last season Kelly led the Bakersfield Blaze, the first half champions in the Cal League North, to the Northern Division Finals where they lost the series 3 games to 1 to the Visalia Rawhide. Before heading to Bakersfield, Kelly managed the Reds Pioneer League affiliate in Billings, Montana from 2011–13. Within the Reds organization he also served as the field manager for the Class-A Lynchburg Hillcats in 2010 and prior to that he spent the majority of three seasons as the manager for the Rookie GCL Reds as well as director of Florida on-field operations. In total Kelly, 59, has spent 25 seasons managing in the minor leagues for 17 teams, including Richmond (2003-05), Syracuse (1999-2000), Ottawa (1997-98), Harrisburg (1995-96), Chattanooga (1993-94), Indianapolis (1991-92), Rockford (1991), Las Vegas (1990), Wichita (1988-89), Reno (1987), Charleston (1986), Glens Falls (1985) and GCL White Sox (1984). Kelly’s playing career included stops in the Angels, Blue Jays, Braves and White Sox systems. He reached the big leagues in 1980 with Toronto.

“I’m very excited to manage in Pensacola for the 2015 season,” said Kelly. “Pensacola Bayfront Stadium is known as one of the best facilities in all of professional baseball. Our team should be very competitive and exciting to watch and I look forward to guiding the Wahoos to a Southern League Championship next year!”

Kelly will address the media inside the Blue Wahoos home clubhouse on Wednesday at 3 p.m. From 4:30 – 6:30 p.m. Kelly will sign autographs, greet fans and pass out a special holiday gift to season ticket holders at the Bait & Tackle Merchandise Store on South Palafox.

The first game of the 2015 regular season  is April 9.

Northview’s Lathan Signs Softball Letter With Kentucky’s Union College

November 26, 2014

Northview High School senior Angel Lathan signed a letter of intent Tuesday to play softball for the Bulldogs of Union College in Kentucky. The college is a member of the NAIA and competes in the Appalachian Athletic Conference  in softball. photos, click to enlarge.

Tate Grad Hodge Signs Wih University Of New Orleans

November 26, 2014

2013 Tate High School graduate Riley Hodge has signed with the University of New Orleans Privateers baseball team for the 2016 season.

Hodge currently plays with Jefferson Davis community College of Brewton. At Tate, Hodge had a 0.94 ERA with 83 strikeouts in 52.1 innings his senior year and was selected to play in the North Florida All-Star Game. In the summer of 2014 he went 3-0 with a 1.83 ERA for West Palm Beach of the South Florida Collegiate League.

Northview Cross Country Team Members Honored

November 24, 2014

The Northview High School Cross Country team honored their outstanding members recently during their annual banquet.

Award winners included:

Most Improved female runner: Mary Sullivan
Most Improved male runner: James Attes
Fastest female runner: Moriah McGahan
Fastest male runner: Brandon Korinchak
Junmi Ross Award: Moriah McGahan
Jim Ross Award: Joshua Borelli
Coach’s Award: Triston Reaves

Photos: Escambia Academy Wins State Championship

November 24, 2014

The Escambia Academy Cougars from Canoe, AL, won the AISA Class AAA state championship Friday night with a 35-28 defeat of Bessemer Academy at Veterans Memorial Stadium in Troy, AL.

For a bonus photo gallery, click here.

For the game story, click here. photos by Ditto Gorme, click to enlarge.

« Previous PageNext Page »