Inspirational Student Hero Awards Presented

May 11, 2019

The annual Cox Inspirational Student Hero Awards were presented to 52 Escambia County students.

“These students have overcome so much in their young lives while maintaining positive attitudes and being a joy for those around them,” said Gulf Coast Market vice president David Deliman.  “They deserve their time in the spotlight for being such an inspiration to us all.”

The students were chosen by a committee of leaders at their school, due to their resilience in the face of adversity.  Whether they have overcome a loss of a family member, medical issue, difficult family situation or other hardship, they did so with a smile on their face and continued to encourage and inspire others around them.

During the event, Cox presented the students with a personalized engraved medallion and certificates of honor.  The students were also presented with certificates of achievement from Congressman Matt Gaetz and State Senator Doug Broxson.

The award recipients were:

A.K. Suter Elementary – Joseph Thomason
Bellview Elementary – Rebecca Dortch
Bellview Middle – Tex Jones
Beulah Elementary – Ashton Young
Beulah Middle – Jacob Botsford
Blue Angels Elementary – Morgan “Brinlee” Bennett
Bratt Elementary – Reece Starns
Brentwood Elementary – Alisha Straughn
Brown Barge Middle – Gary Lee, Jr.
Byrneville Elementary – Emily Carter
Camelot Academy – Linda Bruster
Cordova Park Elementary – Lula Wilson
Ensley Elementary – Alexander Patrick
Ernest Ward Middle – Olivia Bush
Escambia High – Bethaney Griffin
Ferry Pass Elementary – Alexa Mendoza
Ferry Pass Middle – Cele Leigh Hernandez Mendoza
Global Learning Academy – Gabriel Johnson
Hellen Caro Elementary – Sarah Stearns
Holm Elementary – Jai’Juan “JJ” McBride
Jim Allen Elementary – Coy Jenkins
Jim Bailey Middle – Roy Pettaway
Kingsfield Elementary – Leonardo “Leo” Rincon
Lakeview Day Support – Aine Kellett
Lincoln Park Primary – Jamarcus McKay
Lipscomb Elementary – Ronan Potter
Longleaf Elementary – Diamond Jenkins
McArthur Elementary – James Silvestre
Molino Park Elementary – Aryanna Smith
Montclair Elementary – Makiyah McMillian
Myrtle Grove Elementary – Eric Dennard
N.B. Cook Elementary – Ava Nelson
Navy Point Elementary – Ariana Seymour
Northview High – Cade Allen
O.J. Semmes Elementary – Connor Roper
Oakcrest Elementary – Nick Spencer
PACE Center for Girls – Eve Warnock
Pensacola High – Lakeisha King
Pine Forest High – Christopher “Chris” Bush
Pine Meadow Elementary – Nicolas Fayard
Pleasant Grove Elementary – Shyla Williams
Ransom Middle – Mia Portis
Scenic Heights Elementary – Zameena Harper
Sherwood Elementary – Nathan Horn
Tate High – Ezekiel “Zeke” Goodwin
Warrington Elementary – Kamoni Brown
Warrington Middle – Kaleb Hart
Washington High – Jaelen Moorer
Weis Elementary – Alishia Anderson
West Florida High – Chris Lee
West Pensacola Elementary – Zachary Krusen
Workman Middle – Jorge Gomez


3 Responses to “Inspirational Student Hero Awards Presented”

  1. Harvey on May 13th, 2019 7:48 pm

    Way to go Cade!!!!
    Great job young man!!
    Congrats to all the students who inspire others!

  2. Amber Bush on May 11th, 2019 8:39 am

    Congratulations to all the students. It was so inspiring to listen to all of their stories.

  3. David and Jackie on May 11th, 2019 7:59 am

    Congratulations to Olivia Bush and Emily Carter! Congratulations to all of the students receiving this award.

Have a comment on this story?

We welcome your comments on this story, but there are some rules to follow::

(1) Be Nice. No comments that slander another, no racism, no sexism, no personal attacks.

(2) No Harrassing Comments. If someone says something bad about you, don't respond. That's childish.

(3) No Libel. That's saying something is not true about someone. Don't do it.

(4) Keep it clean. Nothing vulgar, obscene or sexually related. No profanity or obvious substitutions. Period.

(5) reserves the right to remove any comments that violate our rules or we think to be inappropriate. We are not responsible for what is posted. Comments may not appear right away until they are approved by a moderator.

(6) Limit your comments to the subject in this story only, and limit comments to 300 words or less. Do not post copyrighted material. Comments will not be added to stories that are over 30 days old.

(7) No posts may advertise a commercial business or political group, or link to another commercial web site or political site of any kind.