Jana Pavlus Named Escambia Teacher Of The Year

February 28, 2014

Jana Pavlus of Woodham Middle School was named the Escambia County’s Teacher of the Year Thursday night during the 29th Annual Golden Apple Awards Banquet. The banquet honored each of the Teachers of the Year from each school and program in the county.

Other finalists for  the Escambia County Teacher of the Year were :  Dawn Jackson, Beulah Elementary; Amanda Cravatt, Hellen Caro Elementary; Pamela Cebula, N.B. Cook Elementary; and Katie Strength, R.C. Lipscomb Elementary.

The 60 Teachers of the Year from across the county were:

  • Alternative Education - Aaron Dubreuil
  • Jim Allen Elementary - Wynell Gainey
  • Jim C. Bailey Middle - Tracey Burnett
  • Bellview Elementary - Trudy Laird
  • Bellview Middle - Suzanne Edington
  • Beulah Academy of Science - Kristina Angus
  • Beulah Elementary - Dawn Jackson
  • Blue Angels Elementary - Jamie Dufurrena
  • Bratt Elementary - Sherri Carter
  • Brentwood Elementary - Alison Brantley
  • Brown-Barge Middle - Lalla Pierce
  • Byrneville Elementary - Amanda Dawson
  • Camelot Academy - Ashley Phillips
  • Hellen Caro Elementary - Amanda Cravatt
  • N.B. Cook Elementary - Pamela Cebula
  • Cordova Park Elementary - Amanda Lagergren
  • Ensley Elementary - Julie Jones
  • Escambia Charter - Matthew Alexander
  • Escambia High - Trish Andrews
  • Escambia Westgate - Ashley McCombs
  • Ferry Pass Elementary - John Blackwelder
  • Ferry Pass Middle - Maureen Humphrey
  • Global Learning Academy - Janet Kay Spencer
  • Holm Elementary - Lynette Chandler
  • Lakeview School - Sherry King
  • Lincoln Park Elementary - LaTris Sykes
  • R.C. Lipscomb Elementary - Katie Strength
  • Longleaf Elementary - Stella Owens
  • McArthur Elementary - Lynn Powell
  • McMillan Pre-K - Renee Khatena
  • Molino Park Elementary - Rebecca Hatch
  • Montclair Elementary School - Edelsa Chalanczuk
  • Myrtle Grove Elementary - Sharon Bradley
  • Navy Point Elementary - Jennifer Griffiths
  • Newpoint Academy - Alisa Wilson
  • Newpoint Pensacola - Tanya Pope
  • Northview High - Terri Jernigan
  • Oakcrest Elementary - Angela Nicks
  • PATS Center - Allison Rhodes
  • Pensacola High - Melissa Marsh
  • Pine Forest High - Charles Cather
  • Pine Meadow Elementary - Marisa Vulcano
  • Pleasant Grove Elementary - Alice Downs
  • Ransom Middle - Holly Kendrick
  • Scenic Heights Elementary - Lacy Zimmerman
  • O.J.Semmes Elementary - Tamiko Womack
  • Sherwood Elementary - Georgia Seitz
  • George Stone Technical Center - Craig Spoke
  • A.K. Suter Elementary - Lauren Farmer
  • J.M. Tate High - Brian Caldwell
  • Title 1 - Rayeko McCartan
  • Ernest Ward Middle - Kathleen C. Ellis
  • Warrington Elementary - Rachael Farmer
  • Warrington Middle - Tourischeva Knecole Lambert
  • Booker T. Washington High - Jade Brown
  • C.A. Weis Elementary - Nan Nevels
  • West Florida High - Cathy Organt
  • West Pensacola Elementary - Majorca McQueen
  • Woodham Middle - Jana Pavlus
  • Workman Middle - Leslie Cuyuch


6 Responses to “Jana Pavlus Named Escambia Teacher Of The Year”

  1. Heather on February 28th, 2014 10:02 am

    Congratulations to all of the teachers listed. My son was in Ms. Vulcano’s class last year. She was a great teacher and wonderful person. She invested in the kids, so much so, that she came to some of my son’s soccer games during the year. I know she went events other students were in as well. I’m happy to see her recognized!

  2. S. Clark on February 27th, 2014 11:15 pm

    Congratulations to all these wonderful teachers. I am especially happy to see Angela Nicks on the list again.

  3. Sheila S on February 27th, 2014 6:38 pm

    Congratulations Angela for being so dedicated to educating children. It takes special people like all you who are Honored tonight. Thank you.

  4. Debra R on February 27th, 2014 3:06 pm

    Congratulations to Angela Nicks and Kathleen Ellis .. two great ladies, and teachers. Way to go!

  5. Thank you on February 27th, 2014 7:18 am

    Congrats to all for giving your time and energy in your profession.

  6. Robert S. on February 27th, 2014 6:27 am

    Congratulations to all of these teachers and to all of those who are involved in the education of our youth.
    Long, long hours of personal time and dedication in planning, preparation and work are part of this that many do not see or realize.
    Thank you and thanks to those in the system who support you.

Have a comment on this story?

We welcome your comments on this story, but there are some rules to follow::

(1) Be Nice. No comments that slander another, no racism, no sexism, no personal attacks.

(2) No Harrassing Comments. If someone says something bad about you, don't respond. That's childish.

(3) No Libel. That's saying something is not true about someone. Don't do it.

(4) Keep it clean. Nothing vulgar, obscene or sexually related. No profanity or obvious substitutions. Period.

(5) NorthEscambia.com reserves the right to remove any comments that violate our rules or we think to be inappropriate. We are not responsible for what is posted. Comments may not appear right away until they are approved by a moderator.

(6) Limit your comments to the subject in this story only, and limit comments to 300 words or less. Do not post copyrighted material. Comments will not be added to stories that are over 30 days old.

(7) No posts may advertise a commercial business or political group, or link to another commercial web site or political site of any kind.