The Tribal Beat Band Holds First Ever Band Banquet

May 11, 2008


The Northview High School Tribal Beat Marching Band held its first ever NHS Band Banquet Saturday night with an emphasis on fun.

“I want to thank the students,” said Band Director Charles Tucker. “You’ve worked so very hard this year.”

“I’ve had a really good time, and I thank everybody for what you have done,” Drum Major Jeremy Halteman said.

The band’s first annual award, the Right Shoe Award, was presented to Tabitha Steege (pictured top of page). Numerous other awards and gifts were presented to students, parents, volunteers and band boosters during the banquet at the Walnut Hill Community Center.

The biggest highlight of the night for the band members were the “fun” awards. The students voted the following award winners:

  • The Most Talented: Mallorie Okahashi; Jake Carlson; Jeremy Halteman
  • The Cutest: Colton Sims; Caitlyn Brown
  • The Shyest: Sarah Schachle; Haley Coleman; Seth Turner
  • The Friendliest: Lanie Eubanks; Melissa Moretz
  • Needs To Shave the Most: Marvin Lucas
  • The Funniest: Briana Halteman; Lanie Eubanks; D. J. Robinson
  • Most Like A Cartoon Character: Wayne Marshall; Devon Dries
  • Most Likely To Have Musical Career: Jeremy Halteman, Briana Halteman
  • Most Likely Not To Show Up: Brittany Peebles; Desere Bookout
  • Doesn’t Know Left From Right When Marching: Devon Dries; Casey Townson; Tabitha Steege; Miranda Burkett
  • Mocks Mr. Tucker The Most: Justin Purvis
  • Best Baton Twirler: Caitlyn Brown
  • Best Flag Twirler: Parish Kelley; Patricia Boughner
  • Biggest Flirt: Marvin Lucas; Allison Spence
  • Spit Valve Fills Quickest: Jeremy Halteman; Jake Carlson
  • Most Likely To Break Their Instrument: Jake Carlson; Dixie Picheo
  • Most Improved: Matthew Mencel; Devon Dries
  • Best At Marching: Jeremy Halteman, Briana Halteman
  • Most Photogenic: Dixie Picheo; Caitlyn Brown
  • Looks Best With FSU Hair: Kolbi Cobb; D. J. Robinson
  • Most Spirit: Lanie Eubanks; D. J. Robinson; Jeremy Halteman
  • Most Fashionable: Wayne Marshall; Kolbi Cobb
  • Most Unique Style: Parish Kelley; Mallorie Okahashi
  • Ate The Most Animal Crackers: Alyssa MacKendree
  • Mr. Wright’s Favorite: Dixie Picheo; Elizabeth Wright
  • Most Dependable: Lanie Eubanks; Jeremy Halteman
  • Best Attitude: Briana Halteman; Lanie Eubanks; Olivia Nolen
  • Forgot Black Socks Most: Casey Townson; Devon Dries
  • Mr. Tucker’s Favorite: Colton Sims; Jeremy Halteman
  • Best All Around: Briana Halteman; Lanie Eubanks
  • Senior That Will Be Missed The Most: Jeremy Halteman; Marvin Lucas
  • 8th Grader Most Likely to Succeed in High School: Elizabeth Wright

For a complete photo gallery from the event, click here.

Pictured below: The “Looks Best With FSU Hair” student awards went to Kolbi Cobb and D.J. Robinson. photos, click to enlarge.



Have a comment on this story?

We welcome your comments on this story, but there are some rules to follow::

(1) Be Nice. No comments that slander another, no racism, no sexism, no personal attacks.

(2) No Harrassing Comments. If someone says something bad about you, don't respond. That's childish.

(3) No Libel. That's saying something is not true about someone. Don't do it.

(4) Keep it clean. Nothing vulgar, obscene or sexually related. No profanity or obvious substitutions. Period.

(5) reserves the right to remove any comments that violate our rules or we think to be inappropriate. We are not responsible for what is posted. Comments may not appear right away until they are approved by a moderator.

(6) Limit your comments to the subject in this story only, and limit comments to 300 words or less. Do not post copyrighted material. Comments will not be added to stories that are over 30 days old.

(7) No posts may advertise a commercial business or political group, or link to another commercial web site or political site of any kind.