UWF’s Pete Shinnick Named AFCA Region Coach Of The Year

December 6, 2017

UWF head coach Pete Shinnick has been named the Region 2 Coach of the Year as announced by the American Football Coaches Association on Tuesday.

Shinnick has led UWF to a 10-3 record and a berth in the NCAA Division II Semifinals in just the second year of the program’s history. The Argonauts have gone 6-1 away from Pensacola this season, marking the second-most road wins in the country.

Shinnick was hired at UWF on February 6, 2014. After 18 months of building the program from scratch, UWF opened play in 2016 and went 5-6, marking the most wins by a first-year Division II program in a decade. The Argonauts also collected the school’s first win over a ranked opponent, defeating No. 16 Florida Tech at home before a sellout crowd on national television. UWF played before capacity crowds at Blue Wahoos Stadium three times and ranked 18th in the NCAA with a 6,328 average.

2017 has been even more impressive. UWF went 7-3 in the regular season and tied for second in the Gulf South Conference at 5-3. The team earned votes in the top 25 on two occasions for the first time ever and became the fastest Division II start-up program to qualify for the postseason when the Argonauts grabbed the No. 6 seed in the Super Regional 2 bracket. Since that announcement, UWF has won three-consecutive road games over ranked opponents to win the Super Regional 2 Championship.

UWF will play at No. 1 Indiana University of Pennsylvania this Saturday in the national semifinals at 11 a.m. Central Time.

This marks the first time he has won the award. Shinnick has a career record of 118-55 and is 15-9 at UWF. He spent eight years – seven playing seasons – starting the program at UNC Pembroke prior to arriving in Pensacola and seven years as the head coach at Azusa Pacific.

The AFCA will announce the 2017 National Coaches of the Year winners in FBS, FCS, Division II, Division III and NAIA at the American Football Coaches Awards, presented by Amway, broadcast live on the USA TODAY Sports Facebook page on Tuesday, January 9, at 8 p.m. EST. The Regional winners in each division are finalists for the National Coach of the Year.

The AFCA began recognizing district coaches of the year following the 1960 season. The awards were established the same year Eastman Kodak agreed to sponsor the AFCA Coach of the Year award. Prior to 1960, the Scripps-Howard newspaper chain had sponsored the program, which recognized one national Coach of the Year.


Have a comment on this story?

We welcome your comments on this story, but there are some rules to follow::

(1) Be Nice. No comments that slander another, no racism, no sexism, no personal attacks.

(2) No Harrassing Comments. If someone says something bad about you, don't respond. That's childish.

(3) No Libel. That's saying something is not true about someone. Don't do it.

(4) Keep it clean. Nothing vulgar, obscene or sexually related. No profanity or obvious substitutions. Period.

(5) NorthEscambia.com reserves the right to remove any comments that violate our rules or we think to be inappropriate. We are not responsible for what is posted. Comments may not appear right away until they are approved by a moderator.

(6) Limit your comments to the subject in this story only, and limit comments to 300 words or less. Do not post copyrighted material. Comments will not be added to stories that are over 30 days old.

(7) No posts may advertise a commercial business or political group, or link to another commercial web site or political site of any kind.